American Hustle – Film Review

Image

A con man, Irving Rosenfeld, along with his seductive British partner, Sydney Prosser, is forced to work for a wild FBI agent, Richie DiMaso. DiMaso pushes them into a world of Jersey powerbrokers and mafia.

I was really looking forward to this one; ever since I saw the trailer. However I think I was expecting something completely different…

The film is pretty slow for most of the time. In fact in the first hour, not a lot happens. It feels very much like a dazed romance most of the time, which wasn’t what I was expecting. It’s not boring or anything, it just doesn’t take off until when into the run; and even when that does happen, its not much off a take off. Luckily, it’s the introduction of a surprise character that keeps you interested and the movie doesn’t completely lose you.

The cast here is impeccable. Every single member of the cast is on the top of their game. There all showing a wide range, especially Christian Bale who has transformed into a different guy again. I was particularly impressed with Jennifer Lawrence who is hilarious in this film and by far the highlight for me.

Talking of hilarious, that’s what this film is. It surprised me, but unlike the slow pace, it was a good surprise. Writer’s Eric Singer and David O’ Russel do a great job of creating easily mocked characters; that are just naturally funny.

O’ Russel’s direction is irresistible in this film, and without it, I might have fell asleep. He does more than enough to save the often flat plot line with some genius moments behind the camera. And, don’t get me wrong, this movie isn’t bad – it’s actually really good. It’s just, apart from a few moments, it lacks any finesse.

The impeccable cast and a superb O’ Russel direction style save this movie from nothingness. – 4/5.

IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1800241/

Tweet me: https://twitter.com/Greshhy

Subscribe to my Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcTBXlnorTK7-3-ssiSdrqg

Follow my Instagram: http://instagram.com/greshhy

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

